AAU Programs

The American Athletic Union is a governing body that organizes and certifies AAU basketball programs throughout the United States. Most often programs offer fall (pre-season) programs as well as spring tournament play. AAU programs normally practice one to two times per week and then play in tournaments on the weekend. In the fall that usually encompasses 3-5 tournaments in October and November, whereas spring programs could cover 8+ tournaments and run from early March to mid June.

Program costs range from $300 to $800+ and normally include a uniform and shooting shirt. The rest of the cost goes to cover the program management, coaches and tournament fees.

Tryouts for fall programs start in mid-August and go until mid-September. Tryouts for spring programs can start as early as December, but most programs have tryouts in early January and run into February.

At one time the AAU program was only for the top players in the region, but more programs have been created such that there is now a place for all players and all abilities.

Websites are listed for informational purposes only. Natick Travel Basketball does not in any way endorse or promote any of these programs.

 

Local Girls AAU Programs

ASA Hoops http://www.asahoops.com/aau/tryouts
Baystate Jaguars http://baystatejaguars.org
Baystate Magic Elite http://www.baystatemagicelite.com
Bay State Storm http://baystatestorm.com
Boston Bobcats http://www.bostonbobcats.com
Boston Warriors http://bostonwarriors.com
Fieldhouse Sting  http://www.fieldhousesting.com
Hoop Crew http://www.thehoopcrew.com/aau-program
Mass Blue Devils http://www.massbluedevils.org
Mass Huskies http://www.masshuskies.com
Mass Mavericks http://www.massmavericksbasketball.com
Mass Wildcats http://www.masswildcatsaau.org
M.T. Elite http://www.mtelite.com

 

Several coaches have experience with some of the AAU programs in the Boston area. You may contact Warren Forman about the girls Baystate Jaguars program. You may contact Bob Ciccarelli about the Mass Huskies program.

Local Boys AAU Programs

ASA Hoops http://www.asahoops.com/aau/tryouts
Baystate Flash http://www.baystateflash.com
Baystate Jaguars http://www.baystatejaguars.org
Boston Bobcats http://www.bostonbobcats.com
Boston Warriors http://www.bostonwarriors.com
Fieldhouse Sting http://www.fieldhousesudburyaau.net
Hoop Crew http://www.thehoopcrew.com/aau-program
Mass Mavericks http://www.massmavericksbasketball.com
Mass Premier http://www.mpcourts.com
MegaPlex http://www.themplex.com
Middlesex Magic http://www.middlesexmagic.com

 

Several coaches have experience with some of the AAU programs in the Boston area. You may contact Warner Jones about the boys Baystate Jaguars or the boys Middlesex Magic program.